The first Official Just Cake, cake.

I received my first order on Thursday, quite a surprise because wasn’t expecting anything this early. We had done a baseball cake one other time for one of our daughter’s school friend’s party, so this wasn’t something completely new.allstar1

I had never worked with custard before and that was a learning experience filling that between the layers of cake, very slippery stuff. Next time I’ll have a better idea of what I need to do.

This had three 9″ layers of white cake, made from scratch custard between the layers, a buttercream crumb coat and white fondant with licorice for the strings.

This was my first time writing with frosting with a goal of perfection and I felt like a 5 year old trying to write my name with a crayon. This should get better with practice.

For those of you wondering I do make my fondant from scratch. It isn’t the type of fondant that’s just there to look good, it also tastes good.

allstar2

Leave a Reply

