My mother-in-law’s birthday

Last week my mother-in-law celebrated her birthday. Her and I have had a standing get together for every Harry Potter movie.purse1 This movie happened to get released on her birthday. So along with my daughter and father-in-law we went and caught “The Half Blood Prince” and met my sister-in-law and family out for dinner.

This was my first attempt at a purse cake and flavoring the fondant with something other than chocolate. It had 2-9″ layers of lemon cake which were then cut and set on its side, it turned out to be more stable than it looks. The strawberry fondant turned out well, tasting like a strawberry taffy. The best way to try something new is to use your family’s cakes.purse2

The purse cake I figured should serve 10-12 people.

I would also like to thank our server who enjoyed a slice and gave me a nice compliment.

Leave a Reply

